CONFABULATOR

CONVERSATING ABOUT WHAT'S ON YOUR MIND!

Escaping Death Row

Sabe Young

“The art of life isn’t controlling what happens, which is impossible, it’s using what happens.” Gloria Steinem

death row
Escaping Death Row
By Robert “Saba” Young

November 4th was a bitter sweet day for me. It was sweet because I was leaving death row after 20 years and will never be walking through those big black doors marked “Condemn II.”

What made it bitter is I left behind my lil brothers & big brothers. That was so hard to do because these individuals were on the battlefield with me, everyday. My last walk out of those doubles doors they removed the handcuffs so that I could walk to Bager section. It was the first time I took the walk without being cuffed. On death row the only time you can move freely is on the East block & A.C. Yards.

As I started walking to Bager, it felt as if time had stop. The walk was short, but it felt like the longest walk I had taken in 20 years. The sun was shining on me and it wasn’t a cloud in the sky. There wasn’t much movement on the Upper Yard and the only sound to be heard was the little black birds chirping, and for a moment I remembered what it felt like to be free.

All that came to an abrupt halt once I stepped through the door to Bager, because it’s a “Mad house”, and I was back to reality. The inmates were loud and nasty just like death row used to be up into 4 years ago before the inmate became workers. The big difference was the C.O’s not being so petty. Fish lines swung past my head & feet as I walked to my cell. I was placed in a cell with a youngster out of Frisco who just got 51 to life who couldn’t tell me much about the program, because he just walked through the door before I did.

I knew a close friend of mines was in Badger, so I inquired about his where-a-bout. He told me, Skull was right up the stairs. I had a runner go to his cell to tell him that his partner Young Rob from 77 Green was here. He disregarded it, thinking the runner had the message incorrect, because he just seen me walking out of death row going to a legal visit. The runner returned and said that Skull just said, “Yeah, Alright,” like he didn’t know who or what he was talking about. I asked could he hear me if I hollered at him, he said, “Yeah!” I hollered at him and once he realized it was in fact me he still was at a loss for words and sent me a kite asking was the Governor giving out pardons before he left office.

That night I was able to walk to the chow hall for the first time. And all the cell doors came open at once so I decided to lag back just to see if I saw anyone I knew. That’s when I saw a love one name, Tidy. He knew who I was, but was confused because he knew I was on death row. So, he asked me my name. I told him my Swahili name, Saba. He responded by saying I looked like a love ones he knew. I decided to stop playing with his head. I told him that it was me. He went crazy. He was pounding on my shoulder that I just had major surgery on just a week before. We walked to the chow hall, and he never stopped talking. He tried to fill me in on everything during chow, and what I should know before I made it to Yard.

I thought it would be much more movement in the yard, but to my surprise there wasn’t. We are only allowed yard twice a week. Shortly afterward, I was called to sick call on a follow up to my operation when I ran into a love one, Criddy-Bo. He showed me around the prison, and told me about all the things going on in Oakland while we sat in a holding cage that’s much like the bullpens when you go to court. A, officer came to the door and couldn’t believe his eyes when he saw me. He broadcast to everyone that I just got off death row, which made me the center of attention and everyone in the holding cage had questions to ask. They all had a misconception of death row.

We had yard that day and I was trying to make it there because I had been in the cell 4 days. When I finally hit the yard it was just like the old A.C. day’s on the integrated yard full of every race. I was looking for my love ones, but couldn’t spot them through the sea of people until I stepped through the gate and there they all were. We greeted each other with a solid pound while I did an observation of my new surroundings and took mental notes. Skull brought me up to date on a lot of things while my mind drifted back and forth to how I just walked pass death row twice without going into it. Yard was nice because of the weather and the conversations.

My next walk was to the canteen line. When I got to the window the woman behind the glass was so mean. I had to tell her that it was my first time in the canteen line and that I was use to canteen being brought to my cell on death row for the last 20 years. She then decided to be patient with me and taught me the process while asking me questions about my time on the row. I seen a few of my brothers as I waited in line that I said what’s up to. I’m sure they were wondering why I wasn’t saying much to them. There was a sign on the window that said, no talking in line, which the angry woman enforced and would kick you out of line without canteen. I said a silent prayer for all of them for the best outcome for their struggles.

After not having a cellie for 20 years it was going to take some getting used to. My first cellie was moving around the cell in the middle of the night when I woke up and kicked him in his back. He had to wake me completely up to tell me,” Hey, you’re in Bager now. You have a cellie now.”

To all my brothers on death row I salute all of you, because I know your struggles. And I’m not saying bye because we will see each other again. R.I.P., Big J. Rock Family Style. Peace !

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 11, 2013 by in True Story and tagged , , , , , , .

Copyrights

Confabulator. Unauthorized use and/or duplication of this any articles,poetry,poems,artworks, books and any other material without express and written permission from Confabulator, editor LC DeVine, unless written approval from the author/artist is strictly prohibited. Excerpts,exact reposes, and links may be used, provided that full and clear credit is given to Confabulator, with appropriate and specific direction to the original content.

Real Time

June 2013
M T W T F S S
    Jul »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Books

Trucker's Nightmare - DeVine Humor from Behind the Walls- DeVIne Password - DeVine The Check - DeVine Love Hard Time - Diti Fortine Ceventi Black Widow's Haunting - Diti Fortine Ceventi Who Am I - Aron Castlin Pain Is Poetry - Leon El-Alamin

Confabulator

(570) 995-1551

We Are In This Together!

What's On Your Mind Most!

  • None

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 381 other followers

Attila Ovari

Loving Life and Inspiring Others

corporatecrimeblog

CRIMES COMMITED BY CORPORATIONS

Teh Lunchbox Pub

Latest News on Gaming, Movies, TV, and more!

UPROXX

The Culture Of Now

Julie Lawford

Anything is Possible

The Neighborhood

Society online's creative conscious.

C.C.U.R.E.D.D.

Conscious Communication Utilizing Rhetorically Effective Dialogue & Designs

Dysfunctional Literacy

Just because you CAN read Moby Dick doesn't mean you should.

Start With Your Pen

here for your words

The Better Man Project ™

a journey into the depths

The Millennium Conjectures™

A Blog of the Ridiculous and Sublime, by Mark Sackler

Prisoner Hunger Strike Solidarity

Amplifying the voices of those in California's solitary confinement in their call for an end to torture

Pasture-ized

Ultimate Christian living is risky business, and only the Adventurous find it.

The Liberation

By Indie Nation

Backseat Mafia

The best in new and forgotten music and film

San Francisco Bay View

Black liberation news and views

